top of page

s u r r e n d e r

What does surrender look like? What does it feel like? Does it have a smell, or taste or sound?

Surrender is the act of dying to yourself in every day, every hour, every minute and every moment. It is to give in, yield, relent, relinquish, renounce, to stop resisting and submit.

Does the clay ask questions to the potter about what it is becoming? Or does it allow the potter to shape and reshape, align and realign until the potter is finished? (Isaiah 45:9). There is nothing we can do to speed up the process of Him working in and on our lives. Instead, we must choose to surrender to Him in every area of our lives.

"O Jesus , meek and humble of heart, hear me. Deliver me Jesus,

from the desire of being loved,

from the desire of being extolled,

from the desire of being honored,

from the desire of being praised,

from the desire of being preffered to others,

from the desire of being consulted

from the desire of being approved,

from the fear of being humiliated,

from the fear of being despised,

from the fear of suffering rebuke,

from the fear of being forgotten

from the fear of being wronged,

from the fear of being suspected.

And, Jesus grant me the grace to desire that others might be loved more than I,

that others may be esteemed more than I,

that in the opinion of the world others may increase and I may decrease,

that others may be chosen, and I set aside,

that others may be praised and I unnoticed,

that others may be preferred to me in everything,

that others may become holier than I, provided that I become holy as I should."

~Merry Cardinal del Val

bottom of page