top of page

The Death of My Ministry (a note to my past, present & future self)

I tried to do it my way. Traded His Kingdom for an empire I built entirely for myself. It always ended the same way - ashes and dust. Along the way there were casualties for the sake of my ministry where I got caught up in what people could do for me rather than what I had to offer them. A selfish battle of vanity and conceit resulting in nothing but a flashy facade of paper walls built up by pride, but just as easily blown down by the whispers of my own internal insecurity. It left me naked and exposed to the reality of a harsh world who's sole purpose is to make those most vulnerable wallow in an unnecessary sense of shame and guilt for being human. But thank God for grace.

THIS IS NOT ABOUT ME. My identity is not in what I lead, but in Who I follow. My ‘title’ is not what I do, but who I am: child of God.

To serve God is to love people. All people. The helpful ones who make life easy and put a smile on my face. The tough ones who, no matter how hard I try, still for whatever reason detest me. The ones who are indifferent and neither help nor hinder what I put my hand to. The broken, the anxious, the restless, the joyful, the wandering, the passionate, the hopeless, the innocent, the passive, the weary…every soul.

I choose to do this Your way. I choose weathered hands and blistered feet. I choose the trail untrodden. I choose to prefer others over myself. I choose empathy, kindness, sacrifice, compassion, mercy, generosity, integrity, patience, gentleness and selflessness. I choose to love.

My ministry dies today.

THY KINGDOM COME. THY WILL BE DONE. ON EARTH AS IT IS IN HEAVEN.

bottom of page